You…yes you…are beautiful.

She walks into the room. Thin and with a perfect figure. Her clothes coordinate and fit perfectly, and her shoes are so cute! Her personality is bubbly and when she enters, everyone is drawn to her. She makes her way around the room, effortlessly talking to those around her.

In one corner of the room, there I sat. I look down and tug at my shirt feeling more dowdy as time goes on. I wrap my arms around my waist in an effort to hide my fluffy postpartum middle and try to sit a little straighter, while I silently wish I was more out-going. Thinner. Prettier. (And where did she find those cute shoes?!) The more I dwelt on my “imperfections” compared to this “amazing” woman, the more sullen and withdrawn I became, until I didn’t feel like myself at all! I was so “ME” focused.
Does any of this sound familiar?

I often wonder why we as women compare ourselves with other women. Thus gauging our worth. To feel insecure because we don’t feel we measure up in some way, instead of finding our worth in the One who made us so wonderfully complex. (Psalm 139:14)
Who knew us before we were even born. (Psalm 139:16)
The One who has the hairs on our head numbered. (Matt 10:30)
Who loves us. Enough to die for us. (John 3:16)
Jesus.
Without Him, I will never be enough, because in Him I am so much more.

I dare to write, because I feel like I have learned to embrace these truths. I honestly don’t think I could have written this two months ago.
Do I still struggle when I see a woman who seems to be perfect? Sure! But I have learned to realize my worth is so much more IN Christ. He didn’t make me for the purpose of imitating another woman.
This quote says it well.

    God made you an original. Don’t die a copy.

So often I had challenged God for the way He made me.
Why didn’t I talk more?
Have the right words of wisdom to give someone who was struggling?
Why wasn’t I thinner?
More beautiful?
It must have hurt my Lord to hear me complain for the way He fashioned me.
I was so inwardly focused I wasn’t even close to becoming what I was meant to be in Him.
That is, till truth slammed me like a ton of bricks. And in the right way too.
Just a simple,

    “You are enough in Me. For without Me, you can do nothing.”

I love this by Holley Gerth, in her book ‘You’re Already Amazing‘ She writes;

    I think the enemy tricks us into believing we are not enough because he knows if we discover the truth, we’ll be unstoppable.
    If you’ve embraced that lie like I did, then together we can start trading it for the truth. We are chosen, cherished, created women who have all we need to fulfill God’s plan for our lives. he has made us just as He wants us to be. We have something to offer no one else can bring.

To grasp this ladies.
The truth.
That we are His. Beautifully made. Loved with an everlasting love. Chosen by Him for good works. We will become unstoppable, and the devil is defeated. We don’t have to hide in the corner of our own insecurities and fear. We don’t have to doubt His design for us. There is so much more to life than that.

Dare to believe you are beautiful. Because you are. I believe you are and so does the One who made you.

6 thoughts on “You…yes you…are beautiful.

  1. Lovely! Knowing the truth has set you free. Like a bird set free from captivity, singing a song of love to its Deliverer!

  2. At the beginning of this blog, I marveled. So many times that has happened to me! May I come to live these wonderful truths…

  3. Dear girl, my beautiful, honest friend.
    How many times have I, as an outgoing “skinny” friend of yours looked over at you and longed to be as wise and composed and beautifully coordinated as you. While I think women can and should learn from our differences, I too am discovering God’s delight in individuality. He made us unique, and perfectly so.
    Thank you for these words. And for breaking the silence and being honest. May this blog become a sanctuary for honesty and walking with others to deeper depths with our Lord. Love you, Beka.

  4. My Dear, Beautiful Sister Beka,
    I want to thank you for these words and for being so honest. How many times have I felt this same way, but was just too embarrassed to dare share it with a someone. I do believe there is a certain freedom in such honesty. Your life is such an inspiration to me! May my life also reflect this wonderful truth. I love you!

  5. You married my cousin but I don’t know you yet! But already I love you just by reading your blog! The mind battle you describe in this post is a battle that I believe every female experiences in one way or another. It is one of the biggest joy robbers that the devil uses to deceive us. Thank you for bringing out the fact that our worth is not gauged by how we compare to others, in Jesus we are not only enough but also highly treasured just for being who he created us to be!! Thank you for opening your heart in honesty. It is beautiful!!

  6. Wow, I just discovered this blog today, and what an inspiration! I love, love the line by Holley Gerth about the devil wanting to keep us from the truth because he knows it would make us unstoppable. That is so true, and something God has been working deeply in me just recently. The devil knows, better than we do many times, how bounteous the riches that are ours in Jesus… what joy, and abundance, and power and authority we can live in! The truth sets us free!

Leave a Reply

