Sweetly Broken

I’ve been reflecting lately on brokenness.
Not the brokenness and pain from our past, nor the broken pieces of our life God so lovingly mends and restores, but the act of being broken.
Completely.
Before Him.
Letting Him break us and tear down the walls that hinder us.

I caught a glimpse of the walls in my own heart.
Walls I had built over time, and I identified them for what they were.
In those walls I saw various bricks and the issues they represented.
With the hands of Jesus covering mine, those walls crumbled down.

And I marvel at His love, and wonder at His gentle patience.

To be broken and submitted, I need to first start with putting down the mortar and brick.
To push past the walls that hinder me.
To break them.
Never to build again.

    Surrendering doesn’t mean giving up. It means inviting God to become even more intimately involved in your life. – Julie Clinton

It’s an act of daily yielding.
Everyday surrender.
A daily shattering of self-will, that will keep us broken before The Lord.
No resistance.
No chafing.
No stubbornness.
Simply submitted.
Sweetly broken.

    “The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit. You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.” Psalms 51:17 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

